CSUN biology faculty recognized with campus awards

Among the winners of this year’s CSUN Faculty awards are two members of the Biology Department, Associate Professors Nyssa Silbiger and Casey terHorst. Silbiger, who recently received a prestigious CAREER award from the National Science Foundation to support her lab’s work in marine ecology, was recognized with an Outstanding Faculty Award. TerHorst received an award for Distinguished Teaching, Counseling, or Librarianship Award, recognizing his contributions to developing and managing classes including BIOL 106, Biological Principles I, and BIOL 502, Biometry — foundational courses for undergraduate majors and Biology graduate students.

Silbiger and terHorst at convocation in fall 2018. (photo courtesy Nyssa Silbiger)